Welcome to our FAQ! To find answers to your questions, please use the search feature below or browse the Featured Questions and Top 20 FAQs.
If a FAQ does not answer your question, you can email our office for assistance by clicking on a specific FAQ, then clicking "I need more information about this subject" at the bottom of the answer.
Back to search results
Category: Motor Vehicle
What is the best way to renew my car, truck, motorcycle or trailer registration/decal? This answer has been viewed 2981 times and was last updated on 08/05/2019.
Avoid standing in line, and save time and gas ... use our online registration renewal service (subject to eligibility). You can also renew by mail, which costs less than renewing in person.
Will the Tax Collector send me a reminder to renew my registration/decal before it expires?
Typically, the month prior to the expiration month, our office will mail renewal notices to Manatee County residents. (Note: Most motor vehicles expire at midnight on the first registered owner's birthday. If owned by a business, the expiration date is June 30.)
Please note that Florida law does not provide for vehicle registration renewal notices, and failure to receive a renewal notice by mail does not relieve the vehicle owner of their responsibility to timely renew their vehicle registration and license plate.
What is required to renew?
Motor vehicles can be renewed up to 3 months prior to your expiration month, and it's not necessary to wait for your reminder notice to renew.
If you are within 3 months of your expiration month, you can verify the cost of your renewal at our online registration renewal service. Cost varies widely depending on the weight of a vehicle and whether you choose to renew for 1 or 2 years.
If I do not renew before the expiration date, will a late penalty apply?
Per Florida Statute 320.07(4)(a), a delinquent fee is imposed on any applicant who fails to renew their registration before the end of the month in which registration renewal is due. The delinquent fee is applied on the 11th calendar day of the month succeeding the renewal period.