Our frequently asked questions (FAQ) section provides information and resources on various topics. To find answers to your questions, use the search feature below or browse the Featured Questions and Top 20 FAQs. If the answer to a FAQ doesn't resolve your question, you can email our office for assistance by clicking "I need more information about this subject" at the bottom of the answer.
Provided the registration is current (non-expired), save time and request a duplicate/replacement online at the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles' online services website (GoRenew.com) or bring in your state-issued license or ID card to any of our office locations. The fee in person is $2.75 for a duplicate and $4.25 for a replacement. An additional service fee may apply online.
Have you recently changed your address?
Florida law requires you to update the address on your registration(s) within 20 days after moving.
Change your address online (subject to eligibility) at the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles' online services website (GoRenew.com) and purchase your updated registration(s) at the same time. You can also change your address by mail, which costs less than doing so in person. To request an address change by mail, complete the Address Change by Mail form and follow the instructions printed on the form. Upon approval, the updated registration(s) will be mailed to you.
Have you recently changed your name by way of marriage, divorce or court order?
If you have a Florida driver license or ID card, it must be updated first. (See our driver license and ID card publication for requirements.) Once your name is updated on your Florida driver license or ID card, any registrations issued thereafter will automatically be updated.
If you do not have a Florida driver license or ID card, you must present your original or certified marriage certificate (or other official name change document) along with your state-issued ID card at one of our office locations.