Skip to main content

Overview

This page provides an overview of concealed weapon license requirements and guides you to specific information to help ensure you successfully complete your transaction. To estimate your transaction costs, see our concealed weapon license fees page. Please also review our payment policy and options.

You can apply for or renew a concealed weapon license at our Driver License office. We can take your picture, scan your fingerprints, and file your application electronically, which reduces the time it takes for the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (FDACS) to issue or renew your license.

We offer these services by appointment only. Time slots fill up fast, so schedule your appointmentNew window now!

To save time and money, renew your license onlineNew window through FDACS, which is a separate agency from the tax collector's office.

Top of page


Original application

You can complete your entire concealed weapon license application process (picture, fingerprints, and electronic filing of your application) at our Driver License office. We offer this service by appointment only. Time slots fill up fast, so schedule your appointmentNew window now!

Requirements

To ensure you bring the correct documents to your appointment, read our concealed weapon license publicationPDF file. Please note that an out-of-state concealed weapon license does not qualify as proof of competency with a firearm.

Please read Florida Statutes Chapter 790New window prior to your appointment. When you apply for your concealed weapon license, Florida law requires you to affirm that you are knowledgeable about the Chapter 790 provisions related to weapons and firearms.

To ensure accuracy and privacy for all applicants in the license processing area, we ask that children remain in the main lobby when possible.

Application process

When you arrive for your appointment, an associate will direct you to a computer to complete an online application form. Our staff cannot assist you with the application form, but once you're done an associate will review it for completeness. Next, we'll collect your payment, take your picture, and digitally scan your fingerprints. Our office will electronically submit your application and documentation to the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (FDACS).

FDACS will process your application, determine your eligibility to receive a license, and either issue the license or deny the application. You may experience an extended processing time if you submit an incomplete application, omit required documents, or have a criminal history.

By law, FDACS has 90 days from the date it receives an application to either issue or deny the license. Average processing time is 50 to 55 days.

Top of page


Renewal

You can renew your concealed weapon license at our Driver License office. We offer this service by appointment only. Time slots fill up fast, so schedule your appointmentNew window now!

To save time and money, renew your license onlineNew window through the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (FDACS), which is a separate agency from the tax collector's office.

Requirements

To ensure you bring the correct documents to your appointment, read our concealed weapon license publicationPDF file.

Please read Florida Statutes Chapter 790New window prior to your appointment. When you renew your concealed weapon license, Florida law requires you to affirm that you are knowledgeable about the Chapter 790 provisions related to weapons and firearms.

To ensure accuracy and privacy for all applicants in the license processing area, we ask that children remain in the main lobby when possible.

Time frame

You may renew up to 150 days prior to your license expiration date. If your license has been expired for 180 days or less, you can still renew it but must pay a $15.00 late fee. If your license has been expired for more than 180 days, you cannot renew it – you must instead apply for a new license.

To determine when you're eligible to renew, you may contact FDACS at (850) 245-5691 or use a date calculatorNew window.

Renewal process

When you arrive for your appointment, an associate will take your picture, collect your payment, and electronically submit your renewal application to FDACS. If eligible, you may receive your printed renewal license during your visit.

Top of page


Duplicate license

You cannot apply for a duplicate concealed weapon license at our office. To replace a lost, stolen, or destroyed license, visit the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services' replacement concealed weapon license pageNew window.

Top of page


Reciprocity

If you have a concealed weapon license from another state, you might not need to obtain a Florida concealed weapon license. For details, visit the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services' concealed weapon license reciprocity pageNew window.

Top of page


Additional information

For more information about concealed weapon licenses, visit the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services' concealed weapon license pageNew window or read our concealed weapon license FAQ and concealed weapon license publicationPDF file.

Top of page